C.S. Lewis had an amazing ability to talk about Christianity plainly in a way that makes both the religious and non-religious stop to think.  He was also a great storyteller.  From when I was young, I really enjoyed his Chronicles of Narnia series and later his Space Trilogy.

He has a quote about earthly pleasures that has puzzled and distressed me at times, and I thought I’d mention it since I was just talking about the focused interests that come along with my personality as a person with Asperger’s:

“It would seem that Our Lord finds our desires not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.”

I identify a whole lot with the child who doesn’t want to get up and go to the beach because he’s content to make mud pies forever.  In general, if I have a choice between staying where I am or going somewhere, I would rather stay where I am, because it’s less stressful than dealing with all of the noise outside, and besides that, I’m not done!

I wonder if it is something autistic in me that finds beauty in some tiny corner of creation that most people find mundane.  The more I get to know about one of my interests, even when it’s something seemingly worthless, like football statistics or video game design, the more beauty I find in its patterns.  Whereas others might say “Aren’t you done?  Move on to something better,”  I would say “Stop and look!  Can’t you see it?”

So I’m not entirely sure what to take from Lewis’s quote.  I have to admit that the growth in my life has come mostly when I have chosen to do something I initially didn’t want to, so maybe God’s will is to call me out of the things I enjoy now.  Does God call me never to be satisfied with the things I enjoy because there will always be something better?

