It’s been a few days since I posted anything, but this time it’s not because I can’t think of anything to post. I stumbled across a website full of simple yet creative ideas for video games, and since then I’ve been working on coming up with my own idea for a video game. (I don’t want to tell you too much about it yet because it’s still in a very early stage of planning.)

When I get an idea for a project like this that really captures my imagination, it can seem like there’s not enough time in the day to read and think about it. There’s a cartoon I saw in a magazine many years ago that I have always really related to: A mom and dad are watching the New Year’s Eve celebration on TV, and their little boy is standing in the room with a wagon full of toys and a frustrated expression on his face. “But I’m not finished with THIS year!” he says.

Will I finish this project? Honestly, chances of that are very slim. I usually get to a point where I run out of ideas and have to put an unfinished project aside; sometimes I will come back to it much later after a period of not thinking about it and find I have some fresh ideas.

Sometimes I think that when I get to heaven, one of the first things I’ll want to do is finish all of the projects I have from throughout my life. (The first one would probably have something to do with traffic lights and road maps.) Time would no longer be a limitation keeping me from exploring, thinking, and building.

But I know that’s probably a pretty silly thing to think of doing first in heaven. Maybe the things to do there will be so amazing that I’ll forget all about the video games I thought of making long ago and be seized by ideas that are so wonderful and exciting that I can’t even imagine them now.

