In my last post, I wrote about how I had a very logical, rule-oriented mind from an early age. One of the things I’ve been thinking about for a while is how much that tendency has both influenced and been shaped by my faith in Christ.

I grew up in a Christian family, and I went to the same small, conservative Christian school from 1st-12th grade.  As with any environment, the one I was brought up in had both positive and negative aspects.  I was protected from many potential pitfalls, and at the same time I became more susceptible to others.

I’d like to write about examples of both on this site, partly to help me organize my own thoughts as I continue to learn more both about Asperger’s and about God– and partly in hopes of relating to other people who are interested in Asperger’s and religion.

I’ve seen many discussions about faith and religion on Aspie discussion sites, and one thing that I find fascinating is that, while it seems common for people to describe the experience of having Asperger’s as playing a role in how their beliefs developed, there seems to be just as much variation in religious beliefs among people with Asperger’s as there is in the population in general.

One person may say that her orderly way of thinking made the idea of a God who establishes absolute standards of right and wrong make sense.  Another may say that his concrete thinking leads him to search for natural explanations for the world and to treat the idea of God or the supernatural with skepticism.  Both may be surprised that a similar way of thinking has led the other to a vastly different conclusion; I’ve seen threads asking “Are most Aspies religious?” and threads asking “Are most Aspies atheists?” on the same discussion board!

(Incidentally, the same phenomenon seems to occur with politics; people with Asperger’s can be anywhere on the political spectrum.)

Overall, this makes sense to me, and I’m actually glad that being an Aspie doesn’t mean I am exactly the same as every other person with Asperger’s.  It’s really important to remember that a syndrome is just a useful label and every person is unique.  Even people who share similar experiences can end up very different from one another.

Well, I was originally going to try to cram a lot more into this post, but I think I’ll save that for later!

