Once again, I’ll be taking a break from the blog for about a week.  Maybe someday I’ll get organized enough to have a backlog of posts to add automatically during times like this, but as Aragorn in Lord of the Rings might say, “It is not this day!”

Right now, I’m celebrating:  the Pittsburgh Penguins just won the Stanley Cup!  It was a historic final series, a rematch against the amazingly talented Detroit Red Wings that came down to the last game, and literally the last second.

I honestly did not expect the Penguins to win this series (and I don’t say that about everything; I thought the Steelers would win the Super Bowl this year, and they did).  So I’m truly amazed– tonight the Penguins played the best I’ve ever seen them play.

And so Pittsburgh becomes the first city since 1952 to hold the NFL championship and the Stanley Cup in the same year.  The celebration there is going to be wild, I imagine.

I plan to make a post in tribute of the Penguins at some point; maybe after this break is over.  The Penguins have a history that is stranger and more improbable than any fiction you might come up with for a pro team.

Once again, thank you, everyone who has been reading my blog!  It’s great to be able to reach out to others in this way.

