Hi!  It’s been way too long since I posted here.  I often find that if I get out of the habit of writing, my perfectionism becomes greater and I have a lot of trouble getting started again.

In the past couple of weeks, I’ve had the chance to spend some time with friends and family close to my age, and I’m really thankful for that opportunity!  A couple of weeks ago, my pastor invited me and some other church members over to his house for lunch.  I got to meet their new puppy and stayed for a while to talk and play cards.

The card game we played was called Nertz, and it works like a simultaneous giant game of solitaire in which each player has his or her own deck of cards that they try to get rid of by playing them on top of other players’ cards in the middle of the table.  For example, if someone plays the ace of spades, anyone who has the two of spades showing can play it on that pile– but if you miss your chance, you will have to wait for another ace of spades to be played by someone else.  The game can get frantic!

I was talking to my mother about playing the game and wondering if my Asperger’s related to it in any way.  I’m actually not sure that it does– if it does, it relates in an area of relative strength because of my mind being so rule-oriented.  It took me a while to get the hang of the rules (and I ultimately didn’t end up winning any rounds), but as I played, I was able to focus more on what I needed to keep track of in order to get rid of my cards.

I think it helped that there weren’t a lot of distractions– no loud music or TV or activity going on in the background– but often I can play a game at home with the TV on; concentrating on the rules of the game can be relaxing.  I suppose the fact that I was able to just pay attention to the game means that I was comfortable spending time with friends.  If I’m nervous about something like not knowing a person’s name, or fearful that someone will do something unpredictable that I’ll get in trouble for, I can’t relax and enjoy myself.  But in this case, I did.

This probably wasn’t a hugely insightful post, but maybe it will help me get back into the habit of writing!

