This video is from a few months ago, but I just now got to watch it, and I thought it was pretty neat.  It’s a segment ESPN did about professional surfer Clay Marzo, who has Asperger’s syndrome.

I found it interesting to see an account of someone who was diagnosed with Asperger’s as an adult, like I was.  I very much identify with one of the things Marzo says late in the video about Asperger’s being like having a “cup” for handling social situations that “overflows” more quickly than it does for others.

I also identify with having a place that feels like a comfortable “escape” (though for me, it tends to be a computer rather than anything athletic!) and with having a supportive family.

Let’s see if it’s possible to post the video on this page… Hmm. I guess it isn’t. In that case, follow this link to watch the movie at ESPN.com:

http://espn.go.com/video/clip?id=4378047

